Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

If you’ve been to Thailand, am pretty sure you are familiar or have seen this so-called budget-friendly hotel in most cities of Thailand. After all, they have 27 branches and the iconic blue-and-white paint of its building is quite a catchy attention.

According to my research, this hotel brand is quite popular for budget travelers. Truth be told, with their affordable unit as low as Php1500++ per night (including taxes) it is quite cheap for most. That is if you’ll only consider the price per se.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
Hop Inn Hotelofficial website written in Thai, but also have an English translation


But I’m a different kind of traveler. I know how to weigh value to quality, so sometimes paying much is not an issue, if it compensates and exceeds my expectations.

Paying less is also okay, but it shouldn’t compromise good services.

Last September, I was invited to try the services of Hop Inn Hotel in its newest branch in Makati Avenue. And I’ve chose the 23rd day for my weekend staycation.


The Hotel

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

I decided to booked my car via GRAB and head to Hop Inn Hotel in Makati, and arrived around 3:00PM. The lobby is very upfront with a limited parking space on front (I guess good for 5 cars).

I’ve handled my passport together with my business card, and asked for my reservation.

I told the reception guy that it might be booked to a different name (either my legal name or online name) then I patiently waited. It was almost an hour waiting (and you know how much I hate waiting especially in a hotel lobby) so I asked him again about my reservation, and he told me that I there’s no reservation under the two names I gave.

Pet Peeves #1 – Making me wait for an hour.

Pet Peeves #2 – an alleged no reservation under my names.

I could imagine that some guest will be hysterical in this situation. It is indeed embarrassing situation. But as an adult and knows what to do, and since I’m already in the hotel premises, I decided to book a room through my Expedia app.

Thank God I have tons of Expedia points ready for my disposal!

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
Thank you Expedia! You are always fucking reliable as always!

In just 2-minutes, my reservation has confirmed and honored by the reception. I gave him my passport for identification, gave me my key card and head to my room.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

My room is on the 7th Floor. While in the elevator, I realized this hotel only have 10 Floors. I didn’t bother to check other facilities because my pet peeves have already started.

Each floors looks like it was neatly maintained, but I find it quite odd. I mean seeing this kind of view on the elevator looks like a hospital wing.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
See what I mean? But then, what would I expect for a budget hotel?


The Room

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

The room is small, and initially I find that my mattress is quite good. This is a non-smoking room, but there is a designated smoking area somewhere, which I didn’t bother to check because I don’t need it.

The floor is made of colored cream tiles, but you have to be careful because it tends to be slippery when wet. No carpets available or bedroom slipper to protect your feet from this cold floor.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
No telephone available or any stationeries just like most hotels. Good thing that all of their outlets are functional.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
Surprisingly, my mattress has a decent kind of duvet that is quite thicker than the one in I’m Hotel. But I’m definitely not impressed with their bed case per se. It’s like an IKEA-type of bed that is not intended for a longer use, or for heavy loads.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
There is a flat screen Haier television, that have decent cable channels but I only watched my favorites.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
The space is quite simple. I have a space that serves as my wardrobe with hangers, a safety deposit box, and a space to place my luggage. Also have a decent split-type Haeir air-conditioner, but I find creepy seeing this locked passage. Maybe it’s an electric control box, but still creepy.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
I have a space serves as working table and over-looking the view outside. They also provided two (2) bottles of complimentary water (350ml) co-branded with the hotel and Nature’s Spring.

Was it a pleasant view? See for yourself.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati


The Bathroom

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
There is a hot / cold shower, and a liquid soap.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati
My bathroom has one (1) tissue roll available, and pre-installed hair dryer. Okay I’, quite impressed that they have hair-dryer because it is important, some hotel doesn’t have it.

But they don’t have bathroom toiletries like extra soaps, hand towels, and even tooth brush for the guests. I heard they have available on the reception area for extra fee. Which I didn’t bother because I always bring my own.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

When I finally felt settled, I decided to work with my laptop and start editing.

They also have a free wifi access which I admit I am amazed on its speed. It was good which I decided to watched some youtube video, while downloading some movies online.

For their wi-fi, I am impressed!

*****

Around 7:40PM when I decided to have a warm shower before heading out for dinner, so I grabbed the towels they provided, and I was shocked for what I saw.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Pet Peeves #3 - My white towels have stains! I have to triple checked them but truly fucking disgusting.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

I took these photos for documentation, and right there I got pissed-off.

Who in the right mind to provide stained towels for their guest? Is this how the hotel management do their business, compromising the safety and cleanliness.

Where is QUALITY CONTROL????!!!

I felt so disgusted to the core.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

I am too pissed to speak to the staffs, so I went out at A. Venue place to buy a clean towel for my use, and also went out for my dinner.

After two hours, I went back to my room carrying my new towel and some snacks for the night.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Pet Peeves #4 - Then I noticed my door. I realized the door is made of plywood, and the safety lock inside is not functional and have this loose screw, and the peep hole has no cover. Right there I realized I went to an unsafe place.

Using force, the door can be easily open!

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

I was so stressed, I decided not to sleep. I keep on working for my articles, do editing while downloading many movies I wished to watch when I come back home. At least I downloaded more than 40-movies!

I can’t sleep knowing and feeling that I wasn’t safe here.

Pet Peeves #5 – The noise was so loud AF!

I realized I couldn’t fell asleep hearing how load the other guests in the other rooms. The rooms are not sound-proof at all. I could hear someone screaming, yelling, and even the voice of both a couple during in their heights of pleasure.

Including the sounds outside the hotel – those buzzing cars, screaming kids, etc.

It was stressful AF.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

In the morning, I packed my backs and checked-out at 12noon. Then I realized that my passport wasn’t with me!

I know I didn’t carry it outside that night, but I remembered handled it to the reception guy upon checked-in.

I asked him about my passport during my checked-out and he explicitly told me that he gave back my passport, and wasn’t with them. I am starting to felt furious, when the lady receptionist gave me my passport. It was just in front of the male receptionist!

How stupid this guy is!

They definitely have zero care for their guests.

I am so disgusted with the stained dirty towel, the poor security, plus the poor services they have.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

Pet Peeves #6 – This guard is included to my list of catcallers. So disgusting and creepy guard!

Right there and there, I have to immediately leave the hotel premises because of this creature.

I can’t imagine that my experiences will be as bad as yours, but hopefully won’t.

I can’t believe I got six (6) pet peeves in Hop Inn Hotel Makati.

And no matter how much they wished to settle (if they would) please I would never go back to this hotel, and to all its branches here in Manila including in Thailand.

Believe me, this hotel is included in my blacklist.

*****

Would I recommend it?

I will become a liar if I still recommend it to you. I don’t tolerate these kind of behavior and poor services.

But if you have no choice and you happen to checked-in here, then at least bear the consequences and pray that you experience a good sleep.

There are many hotels in Makati Avenue that are cheap and decent, but Hop Inn Hotel Makati is not included.

Review: Hop Inn Hotel Makati

I rated them poorly on its Facebook Page because I won’t tolerate such things.

Will I come back at Hop Inn Hotel Philippines?

Do I need to say more?

Rating: 1-star, or better NONE - it doesn't deserve my rate.


xoxo, Blair




98 LOVES AND COMMENTS:

  1. well..i would not go back to there..bad service

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahaha I would never either! I would never do it again and discount my safety.

      Delete
  2. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I was eyeing the hotel for future reviews but I don't think I want to go there na. I got confused though with them inviting you to try their services but they did not have a reservation for you, that you ended up booking one. Ang labo nila :/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should try it as well for fairness :D
      Although there are many positive reviews about this hotel, well am not the type who get easily get lured with positive reviews unless I experienced it myself. Maybe for most, his hotel is a heaven-sent... but for me, its a LIMBO.

      Delete
  3. I'm so fed up with these people that run a hotel and doesn't treat the customer right... I mean.. they have one job! If they don't care about the customer then why they are still doing this job? It's unacceptable! I'm so sorry for your bad experience.. I would totally freak out if I was in your shoes ..

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you dear.
      I was so pissed, but still managed to gather myself and not hysterical. Honestly, I didn't expect too much for this budget-hotel. But serving clients with unclean towels is not acceptable.

      They could cut cost in other amenities, but never ever on sanitation.

      Delete
  4. Oh dear, I'm sorry you had such an awful experience. I think it is expected that the quality of the hotel will be lesser when the price is cheaper, but I would expect clean towels and a door that is secure. I hope you have better stays for the rest of your trip.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly. Security and Sanitation must not compromise even its a budget hotel. So never believe on all positive reviews, until you experienced it yourself.

      Delete
  5. Oh wow, it appears you have had a really bad stay, starting with the one hour wait in the lobby! That's bad, if they couldn't find the reservation they could have told you straight away, not let you wait for an hour. And the dirty towels.... disgusting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh my its really annoying. I wish I wouldn't experienced it when I travel abroad. Oh wait, I would never ever stay in Hop Inn hotel in all their branches.

      Delete
  6. I am more a lowbudget traveller so I am use to this kind of "issue" especially for this price. But because it is cheap it doesnt mean the staff has to be rude...but at the same time perhaps he really though he gave the passport back and he really didnt saw it there infront of him.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Budget hotels are heaven-sent for most travelers, but it doesn't mean they have to be CHEAP for their services.

      Delete
  7. oh wow - I felt I was re-living it with you. Your review is so detailed. When in the Philippines, I will beware. I do love how you have arrows showing me what I need to look at. Appreciate that ~ and seeing you get in a better facility next time you travel. Blessings.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for visiting Evelyn!
      Yeah I love staycation in many hotels, and these kinds of safety and quality are what am always eyeing. I feel like am a hotel auditor!

      Delete
  8. Thanks for sharing your review! That little hide away space in your room was creepy... One of my biggest pet peeves is a room that's not clean and towels that are not spotless. Why would I want to use a dirty towel?? even if it was "washed".

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly!
      Its never an excuse that it was allegedly washed. That's why hotels uses WHITE TOWELS and serve it spotless.

      Delete
  9. I don't get sucked in by good comments, normally when its too good to be true for a normal cheap 1 I wanna checck myself. great 8 post x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know right?! When its too good to be true, its the best time you must doubt.

      Delete
  10. Wow what a bad experiance I definitely wouldn't have been happy either! What kind of place gives customers stained towels and an unfunctiinal safety lock. I dont get the reservation bit either surely if they asked u to review why did u have to book in the end.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They invited me to review their hotel, and then telling me that I don't have a reservation. To save a face (since am already in the premises and waited) I booked my room just to continue my review. Am glad I did it. At least it isn't a sponsored review.

      Delete
  11. reviews like this are very informative! good to be aware of this, yikes! thanks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Patricia! Always be alert on things.

      Delete
  12. Oh man, sorry for your poor experience. I would NOT like stained towels at all. And I hate to be kept waiting :/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. hahaha I know right.
      I would never go to budget hotels like this. Its traumatic enough.

      Delete
  13. Wow, what a horrible place to stay. All I could think of after seeing the little locked door was that someone was gonna creep in on you in the middle of the night. Yikes! Everyone should steer clear of this place.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm not feeling horrified with scary clowns, but this place is like more than a scary clown.

      Delete
  14. Sorry you had such a horrible experience. When traveling I’m pretty picky about the hotel accommodations so I can definitely feel your pain

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, sometimes its okay to spend a little for our own safety.

      Delete
  15. It's so cool and hip! Reminds me of one of my fave hotels in Manhattan -Yotel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, the color looks cool.. but their services are NOT.

      Delete
  16. Wow, I'm all for staying at affordable places, but there is certainly something to be said about quality with even the basic necessities. I'm sure the lack of carpets makes it easy to clean the floors but the final result it too sterile for my liking. That said, given the stains on your towels, it doesn't look like they care about cleanliness either.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, basic necessities is a must and should be prioritize. No carpets are okay, but the security and cleanliness should be top-notch.

      Delete
  17. Wow this does not sound at all like the type of place I would want to stay in. Thanks for sharing a real honest review - I know sometimes people don't share the truth behind their stays.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah that's true.
      Most of sponsored reviews hide the those dirty laundries because they are worried that they won't be invited next time around. LOL
      As a result, their reviews tend to be hard-sell.
      Well, I'm not those people.

      Delete
  18. oh no :( its such a shame that these thing happen however I try and see it as where theres a negative theres also a positive looming

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, my review is about my personal experience and only serves as guide for others.
      It is also better that they should try it as well, and hopefully their experience would be better.

      Delete
  19. Happy to read this honest review. I just sucked looking at those stains on the towels and any hotel which compromise on the safety and cleanliness are sure not to get repeated customers!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree. No one can bribe me to give a good review for an awful services.

      Delete
  20. Thailand is on my dream destination list. I hate it when I make a reservation for something and it is not on record when I arrive. I always check out the reviews before I choose a hotel when I go on a trip.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Well I'm glad it was only for 1 night but to not feel safe enough to sleep is horrible. Checking in and not being in the system and waiting an hour is unacceptable. I was surprised that you didn't have a phone. Even our cheaper hotels have phones in the rooms. I also have never been anywhere that didn't have carpet but I guess it would be a cheap factor and everything should be cleaner.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree. OMG I would never step in this hotel again.

      Delete
  22. Wow thank for such an honest review... reviews like these are really helpful.

    ReplyDelete
  23. I have never been to Thailand but have always wanted to go! If and when I do go, I think I will need to check other hotel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh there are other hotels to choose at Thailand!

      Delete
  24. Thank you so much for sharing your review. The hotel should be embarrassed! I hope for your next trip you have better service and a better overall experience.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Oooh just because it is a budget hotel does not mean that you deserved to get towels with stains on it or have to wait for nan hour. That was not too cool.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree. Well I can still tolerate that they made me wait... but the dirty towels truly not acceptable.

      Delete
  26. OMG! Your experience was hilarious. I definitely agree with your statement : "Paying less is also okay, but it shouldn’t compromise good services." I can't take the towel stains too!

    ReplyDelete
  27. I can't believe how long you were left waiting I would not have been pleased at that. And that's a lot of pet peeves for me I wouldn't stay in somewhere like this x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. hahahaha you can say I have a very looonnnggg patience.

      Delete
  28. Oh my, that's horrible! I think some budget hotels are still good but I will never try that hotel.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, okay I still giving good faith on other budget hotels, but definitely this hotel is in my blocklist.

      Delete
  29. That sounds very shocking, sorry to hear you had such poor service that's really bad

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's okay, am already get it over with it. And now sharing my experience for my readers' guide.

      Delete
  30. It is so refreshing to see a honest hotel review. The place sounds and looks horrible. I had a similar experience with a hotel near Pigeon Forge, TN. I booked online w/ Expedia, then paid cash and the hotel was gross. Dirty towels, blankets everything. I complained, but couldn't get my money back, instead they ended up charging me extra. I thought about writing about my experience, but was so mad, I couldn't bring myself to. Good for you for sharing this, hope this will help others out in the future.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh that's awful! And charging you extra??? Shame on them.

      Delete
  31. You did a great and well documented Review of this hotel! Not really the best, I agree, better to choose another one next time!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I'll take not of that. But its another weird and not good experience. Now I learned a lot.

      Delete
  32. Eww! Those stains! I'm with you. That's disgusting. I would have been checking out if they didn't give me another room. However, if one room is bad, another is likely to be as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh exactly! That's why I didn't bother to complain on that moment and demand for a new room.

      Delete
  33. omg wow!! thats horrible... I love how honest you were. such a fun read.. even if its gross.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL sorry for that.. and that's for visiting Liz!

      Delete
  34. That is the worst when a hotel really doesn't stand up to any standard, that does not sounds like a good or safe place to stay.

    ReplyDelete
  35. Oh man, I'm really sorry that the hotel turned out to be such a disaster. You can never really tell these things in advance.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree. And also reading some very applauding reviews makes me wonder "if they truly have a kick-ass experience" and just ignored the signs.

      Delete
  36. It's really unfortunate you had a bad experience. And you documented it so well. They should be ashamed of both their service and their safety hazards.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for visiting Michelle.
      I like staycation in hotels and resorts, and making reviews are one of my fortes. I shared what I experienced no matter how good and bad it is.

      Delete
  37. I am so sorry for yoyr poor experience, hopefully others will see this review. It was a great detailed review. And while I could deal with some waiting and a not so comfy bed. Uncleanliness is just unacceptable.

    ReplyDelete
  38. Wow thourough review on the Hop Inn. I am going to Thailand next year so keeping this in mind!

    ReplyDelete
  39. I would certainly not tolerate living in an unsafe hotel. Why do hotels compromise on hygiene and safety. Your review is honest and to the point.
    www.thevagabondwayfarer.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh this hotel will be horrible if you have kids as well with you.

      Delete
  40. Whoa! What an experience. I didn't even realize it looked like a hospital until you mentioned it. It really DOES look like a hospital. Well, at least you were able to get great wifi.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL exactly, their WIFI is so good I've downloaded all the movies I want to watch.

      Delete
  41. Oh wow! Sounds like a terrible experience! Glad you were able to make it through safe!

    ReplyDelete
  42. I felt like I ws there right with you, and it wasn't pleasant. I hope that the next time you stay somewhere it is a much better experience. One time I stayed at a motel that I had to put the remote into a baggy cause it was sticky, just grose.

    ReplyDelete
  43. As I was reading through I kept thinking "It's going to be OK" then .. "No, it's not going to be OK" .. wait "It's going to be OK" then .. "Not so much" Darn it all, we've all had bad hotel experiences and can certainly relate in one way or another. ps: the hallways really did look like a hospital ward. x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL You are funny Alison.. But sadly it wasn't okay.
      Well at least I discovered their dirty secrets.

      Delete
  44. That's a cool hotel. The hallway reminds me of a hospital though. That may be kinda creepy at night.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I guess this hotel would excel in hosting Halloween parties, lol

      Delete
  45. oh wow what an awful hotel. It just gets bad to worse. I'd be so cross about all of it, from waiting to an hour to the towels, to the bad lock. I'll definitely avoid this one. x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well some of the reviews online said they had a great experience... but I don't know, lol

      Delete
  46. Yup. Agreed. Pay little but at least its fulfill all your needs during travel. Its really a bad experiences for you there. Huhu.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for visiting Bella. Yeah this is out in my must-try list.

      Delete
  47. I like your honest and sincere reviews of this budget hotels.

    ReplyDelete
  48. Seems like a bad hotel to stay at based on your reviews. Thanks for your honest feedback. I will not consider this for any of my trips.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome. But hey you should try it too and judge it by yourself. Maybe the experience might be different.

      Delete
  49. Being invited and then find no reservation in your name? That's miserable!!! The rooms look decent though. But no phones is odd. The lack of safety is scary..

    ReplyDelete

Editorial Note: Opinions expressed here are author’s alone, not those of any partner brands/company(s), beauty & lifestyle brands, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities, unless specified.

Follow me on Instagram @blairvillanueva

 

MESSAGE US

Name

Email *

Message *